Use your browser's "Back" button to return to the original page. Or go to HomeNews

Show Links


Back to news

Diversity Lottery Registration Opens October 1st

Posted By: Elizabeth Matthews    Published: Monday, 29 Sep 2014

Every year, the Diversity Visa Lottery (DV) Program grants 50,000 visas to people all around the world. Winners are issued a US Green Card authorizing them and their families to live and work in the United States. The lottery opens on October 1, 2014 at noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) (GMT-4) and will close on Monday, November 3, 2014 at noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) (GMT-4).

The Department of State (DOS) has issued information and questions and answers on the criteria and procedures for applying for the FREE Diversity Visa Lottery. Please note that NOT all nationalities are eligible to apply. All applications must be filed electronically, directly through the State Department's website.

For step-by-step instructions go the State Department's Diversity Visa Process website

DOS Does Not Charge to Enter the DV Lottery Program

The DOS indicated that there is no charge to enter the annual DV Lottery Program. The DOS emphasized that it does not employ outside consultants or private services to operate the program. It stated that a qualified entry submitted electronically directly by the applicant has an equal chance of being selected by the computer at the DOS Kentucky Consular Center as does an entry submitted electronically through a paid intermediary who completes the entry for the applicant. However, the DOS warned that if an applicant or a paid intermediary submits more than one entry per person, the person will be disqualified from the program.

Lottery winners are notified by mail and will be provided further instructions and fee information. Those selected in the random drawing are NOT notified by email. Those individuals NOT selected will NOT receive any notification.

For DV-2016, natives of the following countries are not eligible to apply because the countries sent more than 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the previous five years: BANGLADESH, BRAZIL, CANADA, CHINA (mainland-born), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, ECUADOR, EL SALVADOR, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, NIGERIA, PAKISTAN, PERU, PHILIPPINES, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM.

A “native” ordinarily means someone born within a particular country, regardless of the individual's current country of residence or nationality. Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible.


Tags: DVlottery  diversitylottery  DiversityVisaLotteryProgram  

© 2013-2018 Michigan State University Board of Trustees